Archive for August, 2010


Tuesday, August 10th, 2010

By Elois Zeanah

How many developed  nations give birthright citizenship to illegal aliens and tourists?  Only the United States and Canada!  Most countries ban birthright citizenship because of security threats and because of unbearable costs which take invaluable resources and burden federal, state and local budgets and taxpayers.  

U.S. Representative Nathan Deal (and now governor) of Georgia, stated that 123 countries do not allow automatic birthright citizenship for children of non-citizens born in their countries.  A sampling of these countries follows: 

Countries that Grant Automatic Birthright Citizenship 

Argentina, Brazil, Canada, Cameroon, Jamaica, Mexico, Pakistan, Spain, United States, and Venezuela. 

Countries that do NOT Grant Automatic Birthright Citizenship 

Algeria, Australia, Belgium, Columbia, Czech Republic, Egypt, France, Germany, Ireland, Israel, India, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Korea, Kuwait, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Saudi Arabia, Sweden, Switzerland, Syria, Taiwan, United Kingdom, and Zaire.

H.R. 140, The Birthright Citizenship Act of 2011 was introduced in the U.S. House of Representatives in January 2011 to clarify the language/intent of “citizen” in the 14th Amendment to join other countries and stop the abuse of immigrants (illegal aliens and visitors on visas) who come to the United States to have children to give their children dual citizenship; to prevent them from entering military service in their countries; and to get free education, welfare, healthcare and other benefits paid for by U.S. taxpayers.  

Click to read the bill, who the sponsor and co-sponsors are, and what the status is.  If your U.S. Congressman has not co-sponsored this legislation, please call his/her office and request that he/she do so. 

Notes and Sources: 

Ireland banned birthright citizenship in June 2004.  Ireland was the only country left in the European Union to grant automatic birthright citizenship to non-citizens.  (“Voters Reject Automatic Citizenship for Babies Born in Ireland,” New York Times International”, September 13, 2004.) 

 New Zealand changed its law to ban automatic birthright citizenship in 2006.  (“Birthright Citizenship Abolished in New Zealand,” January 1, 2006, Newstalk ZB).  “The Basic Right of Citizenship, A Comparative Study”, September 1993, by Sarah A. Adams. on August 9,2010, reports the dates the following countries banned birthright citizenship to children of non-citizens:  Australia (2007); New Zealand (2006); Ireland (2005); France (1993); India (1987); United Kingdom (1983); and Portugal (198).